Why this poison is interesting
Tramadol has its own page rather than a paragraph on the opioid page for a reason that its manufacturer states more plainly than most textbooks do. The UK prolonged-release label describes naloxone as a specific antidote against the opioid symptoms and then, in the same sentence, says what it will not do: though it will not antagonise tramadol's inhibitory effects on MAO reuptake or serotonin releasing effects.2 The immediate-release label adds: in animal experiments naloxone had no effect on convulsions. In such cases diazepam should be given intravenously.1
A licensed antidote whose own label enumerates the parts of the poisoning it does not reach is unusual, and it is the reason this page exists. The patient whose breathing is restored by naloxone is not the patient who has been made safe: the seizures and the serotonergic effects belong to a different pharmacology within the same tablet, and they are unaffected.
The second reason is genetic. Tramadol's opioid activity depends almost entirely on O-desmethyltramadol, formed by CYP2D6, which the label notes is more potent than the parent substance by the factor 2–4 in animal experiments.1 CYP2D6 activity varies enormously between people. A poor metaboliser makes little M1 and gets a serotonergic, seizure-prone poisoning with less respiratory depression; an ultra-rapid metaboliser makes a great deal and gets an opioid one. The dose is the same; the poisoning is not.
A poison is a drug whose kinetics have escaped its pharmacology.
The toxic principle
Tramadol is a single molecule doing three separable things: weak mu-opioid agonism, inhibition of noradrenaline reuptake, and inhibition of serotonin reuptake with an additional releasing action. The label refers to the last two together as inhibitory effects on MAO reuptake or serotonin releasing effects.2 Each contributes a distinct part of the clinical picture, and each responds to a different intervention or to none.
The seizures are the fourth thing and the least well explained. Both labels list convulsions among the features of overdose12, and the immediate-release label's specific instruction to use intravenous diazepam because naloxone had no effect on convulsions in animal experiments1 tells you the manufacturer regards them as non-opioid in origin. What it does not tell you is what causes them.
Naloxone's effect on tramadol seizures is worth separating from its effect on opioid-induced seizures generally. The label's statement is narrow and animal-derived: in animal experiments naloxone had no effect on convulsions.1 It is not a claim that naloxone provokes seizures in tramadol overdose, which is a widely repeated assertion this page deliberately does not make — it is a claim that naloxone does not stop them. The label's instruction that follows is unambiguous: diazepam, intravenously.1
Toxicokinetics
Tramadol is unusually well characterised for a drug this old, and the label gives figures for both the parent and the active metabolite in health, in cirrhosis and in renal failure — a rare completeness that makes the accumulation argument checkable rather than assumed.
| Parameter | Therapeutic | In overdose | Why it changes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Absorption | More than 90% absorbed; absolute bioavailability approximately 70%, irrespective of food; first-pass effect a maximum of 30%1 | Detectable within 15 to 45 minutes, Tmax 1.6 to 2 h after 100 mg1 | Fast, and near-complete. There is no absorption bottleneck to buy time — which is why the immediate-release label puts decontamination within 2 hours1 rather than the single hour more common elsewhere. |
| Prolonged-release absorption | Zydol XL 200 mg: Cmax 192 ng/mL at a median Tmax of 6 h (range 4–8); no evidence of dose dumping with food2 | Elimination half-life extended to about 16 hours by the formulation2 | The formulation, not the molecule, sets the duration. This is the same trap the calcium-channel blockers page describes: a prolonged-release tablet turns a six-hour drug into a sixteen-hour one, and the label says decontamination at a later time point may be useful for such preparations.1 |
| Protein binding | About 20%1 | Unchanged | Strikingly low, and it is the row that makes the dialysis conclusion counter-intuitive. A 20%-bound drug ought to be dialysable. It is not — and the reason is the next row. |
| Volume of distribution | 203 ± 40 L — high tissue affinity1 | Unchanged | This is where the dialysis argument is actually won. Two hundred litres against about five litres of blood means the drug is almost entirely outside the compartment a dialyser can reach, exactly as for digoxin — low binding cannot compensate for that. |
| Metabolism | N- and O-demethylation with glucuronidation; only O-desmethyltramadol is pharmacologically active, and is 2–4 times more potent than the parent in animals. Eleven metabolites found in urine1 | CYP2D6 and CYP3A4 inhibition or induction alters the parent-to-M1 ratio12 | The single most consequential row on the page. CYP2D6 decides how much opioid the patient makes from a given dose — and therefore whether they present with respiratory depression or with agitation and seizures. Compare codeine on the opioid page, where the same enzyme performs the same job. |
| Half-life — parent | Approximately 6 h, irrespective of route; prolonged by a factor of about 1.4 above age 751 | Cirrhosis 13.3 ± 4.9 h, extreme case 22.3 h; renal failure (creatinine clearance below 5 mL/min) 11 ± 3.2 h, extreme case 19.5 h1 | A two- to fourfold prolongation in organ failure, from a label that gives the standard deviations. The extreme cases are quoted because they, not the means, are what a long observation period has to cover. |
| Half-life — M1 | 7.9 h (range 5.4–9.6) in six healthy volunteers1 | Cirrhosis 18.5 ± 9.4 h, extreme case 36 h; renal failure 16.9 ± 3 h, extreme case 43.2 h1 | The opioid metabolite outlives the parent in every condition, and the gap widens as organs fail. A patient in renal failure may carry the active opioid for well over a day — and naloxone's duration is measured in tens of minutes. |
| Elimination | Tramadol and metabolites almost completely excreted via the kidneys; cumulative urinary excretion 90% of the total radioactivity of the administered dose1 | Slower with renal impairment1 | A renally cleared active metabolite in a patient who may be hypotensive. The accumulation risk is M1's, not the parent's. |
| Linearity | Linear within the therapeutic dosage range1. But immediate-release tramadol 50 mg six-hourly gave concentrations greater than would have been anticipated, consistent with non-linear elimination2 | Not characterised above therapeutic doses | The two labels are not in conflict but they are not identical either, and the second is the more interesting: a formulation study detected non-linearity that a single-dose study did not. Nothing in either supports extrapolating a concentration–effect relationship into overdose. |
| Dialysability | — | No. Tramadol is minimally eliminated from the serum by haemodialysis or haemofiltration. Therefore treatment of acute intoxication ... with haemodialysis or haemofiltration alone is not suitable for detoxification12. EXTRIP has never addressed tramadol3 | Two independent UK labels state the same conclusion in near-identical words, and the volume of distribution explains it.1 Note the label's careful alone — it declines to say dialysis is useless in every circumstance, only that it is not a detoxification strategy. |
Metabolism and the metabolites
Tramadol is the library's clearest prodrug-and-drug: the molecule swallowed is fully active in one set of mechanisms and must be converted to become active in the other. The consequence is that the same tablet produces different poisonings in different people, and the branch point is a single polymorphic enzyme.
- TramadolAlready active. Inhibits serotonin and noradrenaline reuptake and releases serotonin2; lowers the seizure threshold12
- CYP2D6 — O-demethylationO-desmethyltramadol (M1)The opioid. More potent than the parent substance by the factor 2–4 in animal experiments1. Half-life 7.9 h1CYP3A4 — N-demethylation, plus glucuronidationInactive metabolitesEleven metabolites found in urine; only O-desmethyltramadol is pharmacologically active1
- Miosis, sedation, respiratory depression, apnoeaReversed by naloxone12
- Serotonin toxicity, agitation, tachycardia, seizuresNot reversed by naloxone — the label says so explicitly2, and animal data show no effect on convulsions1
One paediatric note from the label deserves recording because it is a mechanism rather than a caution. CYP2D6 activity increases continuously through the neonatal period and reaches adult levels at about one year of age, while glucuronidation and renal function are simultaneously immature — so an infant under one may both form M1 progressively faster and clear it more slowly, and the label states this may result in slow elimination and accumulation of O-desmethyltramadol.1
Elimination and accumulation
The accumulation problem in tramadol poisoning belongs to the metabolite, and the label's figures make the point without needing any interpretation: in every condition it lists, M1's half-life exceeds the parent's, and the difference grows as organ function falls.
| Condition | Tramadol | O-desmethyltramadol (M1) |
|---|---|---|
| Healthy adults | About 6 h | 7.9 h (range 5.4–9.6) |
| Age above 75 | Prolonged by a factor of about 1.4 | Not separately stated |
| Cirrhosis | 13.3 ± 4.9 h; extreme case 22.3 h | 18.5 ± 9.4 h; extreme case 36 h |
| Renal failure (CrCl below 5 mL/min) | 11 ± 3.2 h; extreme case 19.5 h | 16.9 ± 3 h; extreme case 43.2 h |
The prolonged-release preparations create the same problem from the other direction. Zydol XL's label gives a Tmax of 6 hours, range 4 to 8, and an elimination half-life extended to about 16 hours by the formulation.2 A patient who has taken prolonged-release tablets has not reached peak concentration when most immediate-release patients would be improving, and the immediate-release label acknowledges that gastrointestinal decontamination at a later time point may be useful in case of intoxication with exceptionally large quantities or prolonged-release formulation.1
Target organs — and why those
Brainstem respiratory centres
TargetMu-opioid receptors, reached mainly by M1
Why hereThe opioid half of the poisoning, and the only half naloxone reverses. What makes this card different from the opioid page's equivalent is that the agonist here is manufactured by the patient: a poor CYP2D6 metaboliser produces little M1 and correspondingly less respiratory depression from the same ingested dose, while an ultra-rapid metaboliser produces a great deal of a substance 2–4 times more potent than the parent.1 Established
At the bedsideMiosis, sedation, respiratory depression up to respiratory arrest.1 Naloxone works here and is named as the antidote on both labels.12 Its duration is the problem — M1's half-life is 7.9 hours in health1 and up to 43.2 hours in severe renal failure.1
Cerebral cortex — seizure threshold
TargetNot established on either UK label
Why hereThe most clinically important unexplained finding in this poisoning. Both labels list convulsions among the features of overdose12, and the immediate-release label directs intravenous diazepam because naloxone had no effect on convulsions in animal experiments.1 The GABA-A account taught alongside it appears on neither label. The phenomenon is established; the mechanism printed in textbooks is not, and this card declines to print it — though neither label contests it either, which is why this is marked as inference rather than as teaching that has been refuted. Inferred
At the bedsideSeizures, which may be the presenting feature and may occur without marked respiratory depression — particularly in a poor CYP2D6 metaboliser. Diazepam intravenously, on the label's own instruction.1
Serotonergic synapses
TargetSerotonin reuptake transporter, plus a releasing action
Why hereThe mechanism tramadol shares with the SSRIs, plus one they do not have. The label describes both limbs: tramadol's inhibitory effects on MAO reuptake or serotonin releasing effects.2 Blocking reuptake has a ceiling; adding release does not — which is the pharmacological reason tramadol appears so disproportionately in serotonin toxicity reports relative to how weak an antidepressant it would make. Established
At the bedsideSerotonin syndrome has also been reported, on both labels.12 Examine for clonus — see the SSRI page for why that finding rather than the fever carries the diagnosis.
Sympathetic nervous system
TargetNoradrenaline reuptake transporter
Why hereThe third mechanism, and the one that produces the discordant vital signs. Blocking noradrenaline reuptake raises synaptic noradrenaline, giving tachycardia, hypertension and agitation — findings that sit uncomfortably beside miosis and sedation. A patient with pinpoint pupils and a heart rate of 120 has a poisoning that is not a pure opioid one, and tramadol is high on that short list along with clonidine's biphasic behaviour and the mixed pictures of polydrug overdose. Inferred
At the bedsideTachycardia, hypertension, agitation, diaphoresis. Useful diagnostically precisely because it contradicts the expected opioid picture.
Cardiovascular system
TargetCirculatory collapse in severe poisoning
Why hereBoth labels list cardiovascular or circulatory collapse among overdose features.12 Neither attributes it to a mechanism, and the honest reading is that it is a consequence of profound respiratory depression, seizures and hyperthermia rather than a direct cardiac action — tramadol is not a sodium- or potassium-channel blocker in the sense the sodium-channel blockade page describes. Inferred
At the bedsideHypotension and collapse in severe cases. Its appearance should prompt a search for the cause — hypoxia, seizure, hyperthermia — rather than treatment as a primary cardiac event.
Timeline of effects
- 15–45 minDetectable
- 1.6–2 hPeak — immediate release
- Within 2 hThe decontamination windowWhat you see—What is happeningThe immediate-release label puts gastrointestinal decontamination within 2 hours of tramadol intake1 — twice the usual single hour, reflecting how completely and how fast the drug is absorbed.
- Any timeSeizuresWhat is happeningMechanism not stated on either label. Naloxone had no effect on convulsions in animal experiments; the label directs intravenous diazepam.1 This phase does not sit at a predictable point on the curve, which is part of what makes it dangerous.
- 4–8 hPeak — prolonged releaseWhat you seeThe same features, arriving when an immediate-release patient would be improving.
- 6–16 hThe naloxone gapWhat you seeRecurrent respiratory depression as each naloxone dose wears off. The gap drawn here is not a latent phase — it is the interval in which the antidote has gone and the poison has not.
- Up to 43 hOrgan failure
What the mechanism predicts at the bedside
- Naloxone restoring the breathing does not mean the patient is safe. The label states it will not antagonise the monoamine reuptake or serotonin-releasing effects2, and animal data show no effect on convulsions.1
- Miosis with tachycardia is the tell. The noradrenaline reuptake limb produces vital signs that contradict the opioid picture, and few other poisons do that.
- Examine for clonus in any tramadol overdose, exactly as for an SSRI — both labels report serotonin syndrome.12
- Ask which preparation. Immediate release peaks at under two hours; prolonged release at four to eight, with a half-life extended to about sixteen.12 The tablets look nothing alike and the histories often do.
- Ask what else is prescribed, with CYP2D6 in mind. An SSRI both inhibits M1 formation and adds a second serotonergic mechanism12 — the interaction pushes in one direction on both counts.
- Seizures may come before, or instead of, respiratory depression — particularly in a poor CYP2D6 metaboliser who makes little opioid from the dose.
- Renal or hepatic impairment changes the observation period, not just the dose. M1's extreme-case half-life is 36 hours in cirrhosis and 43.2 hours in severe renal failure.1
- Charcoal has a two-hour window here, not the usual one, on the immediate-release label's own statement.1
- Do not request dialysis. Two labels state independently that tramadol is minimally removed and that dialysis alone is not suitable for detoxification12; the 203 L volume of distribution explains why despite only 20% protein binding.1
- In a child under one, M1 accumulates — CYP2D6 matures towards adult activity over the first year while glucuronidation and renal clearance lag.1
The antidote, from the poison's side
Tramadol has a genuine, licensed, effective antidote for part of what it does. That is a rarer and more interesting situation than either having an antidote or not having one, and both UK labels handle it with unusual candour.
- Naloxone
- Reverses the mu-opioid effects, which are largely M1's.1 Its duration is far shorter than M1's half-life of 7.9 h1, and shorter still relative to the 36–43 h extremes in organ failure1 — so the recurrence problem described on the opioid page applies here with more force, not less.
- Benzodiazepines
- Named on the label for the convulsions: in such cases diazepam should be given intravenously.1 They also reduce the agitation and muscle activity of the serotonergic component, which is the same role they play on the SSRI page.
- Activated charcoal
- Immediate release: within 2 hours.1 Prolonged release: within 1 hour, with the caveat that later charcoal for prolonged-release preparations may seem reasonable but has no clinical trial evidence to support it.2 The two labels differ, and the difference is the formulation, not a disagreement.
- Cyproheptadine
- For serotonin toxicity, with the same weak evidential footing described on the SSRI page. Neither tramadol label mentions it.
- Sodium bicarbonate
- No role established. Tramadol is not described as a sodium-channel blocker on either label, and nothing in the overdose sections points to QRS widening.12 Mentioned here only to say that the reflex from the tricyclics does not transfer.
- Extracorporeal removal
- Not suitable. Tramadol is minimally eliminated from the serum by haemodialysis or haemofiltration. Therefore treatment of acute intoxication ... with haemodialysis or haemofiltration alone is not suitable for detoxification.12 EXTRIP has published no recommendation covering tramadol.3
Critical appraisal
- The seizure mechanism carries an inferred badge, and it was downgraded from traditional teaching at audit. The original justification was that both labels describe convulsions and give management instructions for them while neither offers any mechanism. Two independent reviewers rejected that reasoning and they were right: silence is an absence of a citation for the claim, which the house rule explicitly refuses, and it is not the same as the lithium precedent, where two labels positively assert the mechanism is unknown. The GABA-A account taught in textbooks is therefore unsupported here rather than refuted, and no source contesting it was found. If one is found, the badge should go back on.
- The naloxone-and-seizures statement is animal-derived and is quoted as such.1 This page deliberately does not make the widely repeated claim that naloxone provokes seizures in tramadol overdose. The label says only that naloxone did not stop them in animals, and the stronger claim is not supported by either document consulted.
- The M1 potency figure of 2–4 times the parent is from animal experiments, and the label says so.1 It is the basis of the CYP2D6 argument on this page, and that argument is therefore inference from animal potency plus human metabolic variation — flagged as inferred on the organ card and in the pathway callout rather than asserted.
- The CYP2D6 phenotype account is mechanistically sound and clinically unvalidated in tramadol overdose specifically. That poor and ultra-rapid metabolisers form different amounts of M1 follows directly from the label1; that this produces two clinically distinguishable overdose syndromes is a prediction from that fact, not a finding from a cohort. It is badged accordingly.
- The two labels differ on the decontamination window — 2 hours for immediate release1 against 1 hour for prolonged release2 — and this page reports the difference rather than reconciling it, because the difference is real and formulation-driven. The prolonged-release label's own caveat that there is no clinical trial evidence for late charcoal2 is the more useful statement of the two.
- The non-linearity observation is from a steady-state formulation study, not from overdose data2, and is not evidence about what happens at overdose concentrations. Nothing on this page extrapolates from it.
- No lethal or fatal dose appears here, and none should. Both labels note that overdose may be fatal12; neither figure nor threshold is reproduced, in line with this site's permanent boundary.
- EXTRIP has never addressed tramadol3, but unlike clonidine the absence leaves no open question: two labels answer it directly and the 203 L volume of distribution1 explains the answer.
- The cardiovascular collapse card is the weakest on the page and is marked as inference. Both labels list it12; neither explains it, and attributing it to hypoxia, seizure and hyperthermia rather than to a direct cardiac action is a reading rather than a demonstration.
References
- 1Zydol 50 mg Capsules (tramadol hydrochloride) — Summary of Product Characteristics. electronic medicines compendium, product 81. Sections 4.9 (Overdose) and 5.2 (Pharmacokinetic properties). Source of the M1 potency factor, the parent and metabolite half-lives in health, cirrhosis and renal failure, the 203 ± 40 L volume of distribution, the 20% protein binding, the 2-hour decontamination window, and the statement that naloxone had no effect on convulsions in animal experiments. medicines.org.uk/emc/product/81
- 2Zydol XL 400 mg prolonged-release Tablets (tramadol hydrochloride) — Summary of Product Characteristics. electronic medicines compendium, product 88. Sections 4.9 (Overdose) and 5.2 (Pharmacokinetic properties). Source of the statement that naloxone will not antagonise tramadol's inhibitory effects on monoamine reuptake or its serotonin-releasing effects, the prolonged-release Tmax and 16-hour half-life, and the caveat that there is no clinical trial evidence for late activated charcoal. medicines.org.uk/emc/product/88
- 3EXTRIP Workgroup — published recommendations index. Extracorporeal Treatments in Poisoning Workgroup. Cited for the absence of any recommendation covering tramadol or the opioids. extrip-workgroup.org/recommendations